Day #32:What Inspires Us? Fear

Today I am starting the series ‘What inspires Us’? To understand what really inspires people. What drives people to do the things they do.I am not sure what we are going to find, so stay with me on this one. To write about this, I decided to put this question to myself,’what really inspires me?’. I have to admit, it’s a difficult question. Mainly because many things inspire me. Beauty, in nature, in music, in people, ordinary people doing extraordinary things, moments of connection, moments of  loneliness, moments when you know you are doing something bigger than you, the list goes on.

However, today I want to write about one of the key things that inspire me.Fear.

We think of fear as a negative emotion and we are told to find ways to deal with fear in our lives by guys in the self-help business.But I like to consider fear as a friend. I think of fear as warning signal that something is wrong and I have to fix it before it’s too late. If I have  test and I’m scared, the signal I am getting is: I am not prepare enough and I have to prepare more.

The crux of my argument is,fear itself is not a bad thing.It depends on how you use it or how you let it use you. We are all scared, especially in those moments when you want to do something bigger than you.It’s a signal that the status quo is under attack.’Danger’ it screams, ‘you are going to make both of us look like fools’. Whenever I get this, rather than shutting it off, I check it, think of what I need to improve to make me feel the situation is under control. I never let fear stop me from doing something.I let it guide me to doing something better.

I am scared of so many things:As a kid I was scared of moving shadows in the dark,creatures with many heads I see in my dreams, scared of water, still am. Now as an adult, my range of fears are different. Fear of being average, fear of not living up to expectation,fear of writing a post or book no one is ever going to read, fear someone might say no, fear of failing, looking like an idiot before friends and family, fear of what people might think,of not keeping a promise. The list is endless.

What is important to me is not fear.I’ve learned to embrace fear as both motivating and inspiring. These days, if something scares me,my first impulse is no longer to cover my ears and avoid it. I’ve learned that if something scares me, it’s often worth doing. . Am I going to stop and not ask just because someone might say no?Not really. I let that fear teach me to ask in a better way.When I sit down to write a post like this and fear shows up, I check everything again to be sure I have written something  worth reading.

This is one of the things that inspire me.What inspires you?How do you use fear?

One thought on “Day #32:What Inspires Us? Fear

  1. Pingback: Inspiration – Get it? Got it? Good. | Free, Fun or Interesting

Leave a Reply

