Day #185:Find Success by Doing the Things You Dislike

As I think of  how I spent my 2013,the goals I achieved, the  many things I didn’t achieve and look forward to planning 2014, I am reminded of a powerful quote by Albert E. N. Gray:

The successful person has the habit of doing things failures don’t like to do. They don’t like doing them either necessarily. But their disliking is subordinated to the strength of their purpose.

If you are someone who has to make important changes in your life in 2014, you may want to ponder on this idea. What are the things you know you have to do but are avoiding? If you were to discipline yourself and create a plan for doing those things, would you find positive, even breakthrough rewards?

In my case, I know when I’m trying to avoid doing something, I eventually see that I’ve paid an even higher price by avoidance. For example, when I’ve neglect my health by not eating right, exercising, or getting enough sleep because I find it hard to stick to a disciplined regiment, I have found myself feeling sluggish and not doing my best work. Compared to the times when I subordinate my dislikes to the strength of my purpose, like waking up at 5AM to run for 1 hour even while it’s snowing, in zero degrees temperature just to get a great start to the day and stay physically fit, I find that things turn around.

Identify something you are avoiding and make a promise that you will do it. Make a promise and keep it. Subordinate the things you dislike doing to your greater purpose. The more you do this, the more strength you will build—and the more success you will find.

Thank you for reading today’s post.

Leave a Reply

