Day #219:2 Great Articles on Mindfulness and Being Present

Today I  want to share 2 great articles I read over the weekend on mindfulness and being present. I am sharing these articles because  like most people’ I find myself constantly getting distracted, unable to focus on one thing. Actually  never really call it being distracted. I always thought I was multitasking. I am reading on my kindle, trying to do something on my laptop, chatting with someone on the phone and trying to watch a game of soccer on TV.

I know I am not alone in his because I see a lot of my friends struggle with the same situation. I hope these articles help you with some insight as much as they helped me.

#1:A Simple Guide to Being Present for the Overworked and Overwhelmed (From www.zenhabits.net)

“With the past, I have nothing to do; nor with the future. I live now.” – Ralph Waldo Emerson

How often are you driving while talking on a cell phone, or thinking about work problems, or the errands you have to do? How often do you eat without thinking about the food you’re eating? How often do you drift off while doing other things, thinking about something you messed up on, or worrying about something that’s coming up?

I would submit that most of us are elsewhere, much of the time, rather than in the here and now.

If I could only give one word of advice to someone trying to find peace in an overwhelming and stressful and chaotic world, it would be this: simplify. But if I could give two more words of advice, they’d be: be present. Continue reading…..

#2:An Antidote for Mindlessness (From: www.newyorker.com)

In the mid-nineteen-seventies, the cognitive psychologist Ellen Langer noticed that elderly people who envisioned themselves as younger versions of themselves often began to feel, and even think, like they had actually become younger. Men with trouble walking quickly were playing touch football. Memories were improving and blood pressure was dropping. The mind, Langer realized, could have a strong effect on the body. That realization led her to study the Buddhist principle of mindfulness, or awareness, which she characterizes as “a heightened state of involvement and wakefulness.” Continue reading…

Leave a Reply

