Day #277:’Follow Your Bliss’

One of the most interesting writers I have read in the last couple of years is Joseph Campbell, know for his book The Hero’s Journey: Joseph Campbell on His Life & Work. His book is poignant and laced with life long lessons on how to live a fulfilled life or ‘follow your bliss’ as he counsels.

I came across something from the book recently that I found interesting:

“You enter the forest
at the darkest point,
where there is no path.

Where there is a way or path,
it is someone else’s path.

You are not on your own path.

If you follow someone else’s way,
you are not going to realize
your potential.”

I really connect to these lines because recently I took a decision to move back and work in Nigeria. After contemplating for a while, I finally decided to take the plunge  and go for it. A lot of my friends still think it’s crazy to swap working and living in Paris for life in Lagos.Yes it’s crazy and may be I am crazy. But if there’s something I am learning about taking this journey,it is that, if something is not scary, it’s probably not worth doing. I have something to contribute to this country and I could either sit in my comfortable life and write about all that was not working or I could move back and be more connected to the environment so I can find what to contribute.It’s okay to sit in comfort and watch the life we wish we can live or we can just go ahead and live that life we have always wanted to live.

Yours may not be to move back home, it may be to travel abroad and leave your comfortable familiar life behind. Yours may be to start that venture you have always wanted to start but you are scared of living your comfortable high paying job for a life of uncertainty.The truth is, if you don’t close the current door you have open and open that scary door, you won’t know what’s on the other side.Don’t you want to find out?

Joseph Campbell says:

“If you do follow your bliss you put yourself on a kind of track that has been there all the while, waiting for you, and the life that you ought to be living is the one you are living. Follow your bliss and don’t be afraid, and doors will open where you didn’t know they were going to be.”

There’s nothing more powerful than these words, ‘follow your bliss’.

Leave a Reply

