Day #296:How to Get Inspired!

Today I find myself staring at my computer looking for inspiration to come and to find something inspiring to write about. Alas! I am blank.Nothing. Nothing is coming up. I try to read up blogs and books I have read in the past to see if something from there can inspire me. Nothing came up. I am still blank even as I write these words.

Suddenly I think today’s most inspiring moment to me will be figuring out how to bring myself to do something I want to do but I can’t. In this case writing my blog post.How do you find inspiration when you are not inspired? A quick search on the internet on ‘how to get inspired’ turns up 530,000,000  results. This means a lot of people always find themselves struggling to find inspiration either to write or to get themselves to do something they badly want to do.

One of the most useful answers I found to this question is from Wikihow.com, It advises to take a moment to breathe and reflect on your goal. What do you really want to do?Then try and write down some ideas about what you want to do. Try to recall thoughts that you have had that you found particularly interesting.

Here is a summary of 5 things I learnt from this quick search.

1.Have One Goal. Having many thing on your mind to do can be really stressful. Determine what is important to you in the here and now. Leo Babauta says: “You cannot maintain energy and focus (the two most important things in accomplishing a goal) if you are trying to do two or more goals at once…. You have to choose one goal, for now, and focus on it completely.”

2.Brainstorm first, analyze later: I find myself trying to get the perfect sentence, the right words every time I try to write a blog post. And this stops me from getting to a clear point of writing.The frustration sets in and I abandon the whole thing altogether. Adam Steltzner chief engineer and development manager for the Mars Science Laboratory at NASA advises to make brainstorming a two-step process. First, air every idea, with zero critical evaluation. Then analyze the ideas.

3.Take a break.If you find yourself in a creative rut, take a break from work. Take a walk and try not to focus on what you are trying to do for  the main time. Most creative solutions to a big problem comes when you take a step away and not doing that particular thing.

4.Commit to get things done. The only reason I don’t give up when I don;t feel inspired to write is because I have committed myself to writing a blog post everyday. So I know even if I don’t get inspired right now, I have to get inspired because I can’t afford to fail. Putting yourself under this kind of pressure can be extremely helpful in getting things done.

5.Create a system that helps you get inspired.Most renown writers and innovators carry around a writing pad to jot down their ideas and a list of things to do.Leonardo Da Vinci was reported to carry with him a notebook that had a list of things he wanted to do or learn. I bet most of his inspiration comes from the things on his list.

 

Leave a Reply

