Day #307: “Should I accept myself, or expect more from myself?”

“How do I know if the time has come to Accept my limitations,Or whether I
still ought to try to

Fulfill my promise?”– Judith Viorst, “Twenty Questions,” in *How Did I Get
to Be Forty & Other
Atrocities*<http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/1476702705/ref=as_li_ss_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=390957&creativeASIN=1476702705&linkCode=as2&tag=thehappproj-20>

This quotation reminds me of one of the most important questions I continue
to ask myself everyday . “*Should I a**ccept myself, or expect more from
myself.*”

At what point do I decide to just accept my limitations and try not to
fight them or decide to continue to wok on self improvement? More
importantly, are there some things I should never give up on and continue
to try to improve. Or Is there a certain age I should just accept that I am
done and cant go any further trying to fight my limitations?

As W. H. Auden put it,* “Between the ages of twenty and forty we are
engaged in the process of discovering who we are, which involves learning
the difference between accidental limitations which it is our duty to
outgrow and the necessary limitations of our nature beyond which we cannot
trespass with impunity.” *

Or as *Flannery
O’Connor*<http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/0374521042/ref=as_li_ss_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=390957&creativeASIN=0374521042&linkCode=as2&tag=thehappproj-20>observed,
*“Accepting
oneself does not preclude an attempt to become better.” *

*I have to confess I don’t know the answer to these questions. Do you
sometime find yourself with these questions? What do you think?*

One thought on “Day #307: “Should I accept myself, or expect more from myself?”

Leave a Reply

