Day #321:In Moments of Immobility!

Have you had one of those times when you just don’t have a clue what you are doing or what you are supposed to be doing?You are just clueless. Can’t even figure out what you should be doing? I have.

I know a mark of an intelligent person is the clarity to define what you want to do and the drive/will to do it. And I generally consider myself an intelligent person.Or at least people say I am.

Anyway,most times I find myself struggling with the will to do what I want to do. I am not even sure lack of will power is the best way to describe it.That would mean I had the capacity to do it but couldn’t bring myself to do it. Which is not really the case.Usually it’s this immobile state.Like sitting in front of the the computer for hours waiting for inspiration and for the right words to drop from heaven to fill up the pages.That can be frustrating. The feeling that your are stuck, don’t know what to do.Can’t move forward or even go backwards. Your brain is frozen.

In all the times I found myself in this state, which is a lot these days,I discovered that 2 things help: firstly,just sitting there and waiting for those words to drop. I just sit and wait. If I get lucky, something starts popping up and I start writing and I get something together. Before you know it I am in the mood and I have my rhythm back. Or if it’s not something related to writing, I just wait it out.

Second option, I just leave the whole activity I am supposed to be working on and just do something else or try to focus on something else.I check out emotionally, sometimes physically. This is usually the hardest part cos I am not always sure leaving the activity would yield the desired result. Sometimes it does, sometimes it doesn’t.

By the way, this is not an advice on how you should deal with these situation supposing you find yourself in this state. This is just what works for me.

Leave a Reply

