Day #403:The Lies We Tell Ourselves

“Wherever you go you will find people lying to you, and as your awareness grows, you will notice that you also lie to yourself. Do not expect people to tell you the truth because they also lie to themselves. You have to trust yourself and choose to believe or not to believe what someone says to you.”Miguel Ruiz (The Four Agreements: A Practical Guide to Personal Freedom)

One of the things I am learning about myself in the past 9 months is that I lie to myself alot without admitting it. I lie about who I say I am. What I say I believe in.Not to anyone ,but to myself. And the funny things is, I  have a perfectly constructed story to explain to myself why that lie makes sense.

I thought I was alone. But recently I have been talking to alot of friends and I find they go through the same thing. We talk a lot about going outside our comfort zone but we never really go out side out comfort zone.

We have fears about alot of things but we never want to admit those fears. Therefore we create a narrative that shows those fears don’t exist.

 

Leave a Reply

