Day #428: Satisfying others at your own detriment.

A couple of days ago I was in an interview with a lady who went to University to study Economics and was making career changes to work in media and advertising. I asked her how come she studied Economics and now she is interested in media and journalism? She told me she had to study Economics because her da wanted it. He was an economist and gave her no choice but to study Economics or he wouldn’t fund her tuition. To be honest, I didn’t know people still did this. While I was feeling sad for her that her dad forced her into studying something she didn’t really like, she told me, ‘ I didn’t know how to say no because I don’t want to offend my dad’. Now thinking about it, I realized perhaps I am not seeing the whole picture. I don’t understand why people work to satisfy other people even at their own detriment.

Sometimes we try to satisfy our parents, teachers, spouses and peers by walking a particular path in spite of the fact that our own inner GPS advises otherwise.  Then, not surprisingly, we wake up one day and we feel completely lost.  If you’re feeling a little lost now, its time to change course.

Life is too short to spend all your time trying to make everyone else happy.  Besides, it’s impossible to please everyone all the time anyway.  At some point, you’ve got to stop caring about what everyone else wants for you, and start actually living for yourself.

Make choices that take your mind, body, and soul into consideration.  You are the only person who knows what’s best for you.  It’s impossible for anyone else to know.  No matter how much you share with them, they are not connected to your deepest desires, intuition, hopes and dreams.  Always, ALWAYS listen to yourself and what you want first.

But what do I know? Perhaps might be wrong.

Leave a Reply

