Day #471:20 Reasons You Should Settle For Being Average

A friend who knows I have been pushing my personal project and stalling on acting on my ideas sent me this blog post some days. It got me seriously evaluating my actions and really doing stuff and not just having ideas and being okay with easy stuff. I though I’d share the content on this blog. It might help someone.

Let’s face the facts: doing brilliant work is just too hard. Making things, starting businesses and pursuing your dreams will cost you, and in the end it may not be worth it. With that in mind, I want to give you a few excuses you can use in a pinch to explain to others why you are settling for being average.

  1. It’s too hard.
  2. They won’t let me.
  3. It will cost me too much.
  4. I don’t know what to do.
  5. What if they laugh at me?
  6. No one has done it, so it must not be possible.
  7. No one has done it, so who do I think I am to try?
  8. I’m too young.
  9. I’m too old.
  10. I have it too good to take a chance.
  11. I don’t have the resources/time/connections.
  12. I have a young family.
  13. I’m not sure it will work.
  14. I’ll do it later.
  15. I might get hurt.
  16. It will take too long.
  17. What if something better comes along?
  18. I’d rather watch TV/play games/hang with friends.
  19. I’m afraid.
  20. I’m a fraud and I don’t want to be found out.

Any one of these reasons is sufficient to keep you on the sidelines, fat and content. Except you won’t be. There will always be a nagging sense that there is something more for you, and that you’re selling out – let’s just call it prostituting your better self – for the sake of a little ease and comfort.

Is it hard to try to do something remarkable? Yes. That’s why most people don’t do it. It’s easier to live a sedated life hooked up to the IV drip that is the “American dream”.

Or you can begin to act. Today. To do that thing that’s like a thorn in your side and won’t go away. You can dare to be someone who spends what you have – body, soul, energy, effort – on something you can point at with joy. That’s what I aspire to, and I hope you will join me.

Leave a Reply

