Day #552:Why 90 Days Goals are Better Than Yearly Goals

I am a big believer in goal setting and leading to the new year, I have written a lot of articles about goals setting and preparing for the year.

However, on thorough evaluation of my goals for 2014,I discovered I didn’t start working on them until I had 90 days left. I’d procrastinate.

Procrastination is the killer of all goal setting. You have to set a goal with a time limit that causes you to take action today.

I picked 90 days because I wanted to give myself enough time to accomplish something but not so much time that I wouldn’t.

Don’t make a goal so far out that it doesn’t affect your behavior today. I need a goal that makes me move now.

Here are some reasons why 90 Days goals are better than year long goals

1.Sense of Urgency: One of the most important factors in achieving your goals is setting a time bound goal. Goals set over a year period do not have strong power of urgency as you always have the feeling that you have enough time to achieve them if you can’t achieve them now.The vast majority of people who don’t achieve thier goals fail to give themselves a deadline, and they fail to write them down.

2. Breaking Down Your Goals into Manageable Chunks: Think of how difficult it is to eat a whale. Insane right? Having goals with one year life span increases the chances of getting confused on where to start from. You may have lots of goals, and that’s a good thing. Giving yourself 90 days means you can focus on a few at a time, knowing that there’s another 90-day period coming up soon.This also goes to urgency. If your goals are in small chunks of 90 days, you have more drive and vigor to attack them.

3.Fail Fast and Start Over: When we give up on New Year’s resolutions, it’s easy to let ourselves wait until next January to try again. Ninety day goals offer a quicker option. You can reset quickly, taking the lessons from why you failed and try again. A year long goal makes it difficult to start over in the middle of the year.

What do you think? Have you used any of the two systems before?? Which works best for you?

2 thoughts on “Day #552:Why 90 Days Goals are Better Than Yearly Goals

  1. I can be a total procrastinator when it comes to things I should do, but don’t want to – so I agree with the 90 day goals! Plus if it’s a year long project, I tend to become overwhelmed. I like to break things down weekly and monthly. It becomes more of a “to-do” list then goals that way, but several months in, I’ve made some good achievements!

    Like

Leave a Reply

