Day #751:What Happens When You Go on a Journey

Most of us are very careful about doing something new. Starting an adventure we don’t know how it will end. Say things like starting a new relationship, a new business or making a career decision in an area we are not familiar with.
This is scary. So we stop and don’t  bother to start the journey. We become immobilized by our fears.
Most times, just starting a journey might be the best thing you can ever do. A journey will push you, it will reveal your weaknesses and gaps in your character. I see this everyday in my life in the last 5 months since I started dating. I am learning more about my stubbornness and the fact that I don’t listen to people. More importantly, it’s revealing deep insecurities I have that I would have never acknowledged before now.Truth is, if I never started that relationship, I would still continue to think of myself as perfect.And the guy that can do no wrong. The journey is like a test. If you dont write it, you never know how good or bad you are.
The journey doesn’t just reveal your weaknesses and the flaws in your character though, you have to be willing to listen to yourself. You have to be willing to open that part you call ‘self’ up for review. You need to be willing to see what outcome the process reveals.
You should approach every journey (new relationship, new job, moving to a new country, starting a new business,etc) with the feeling of ‘ I dont know what’s on the other side, but I am sure I am going to learn something about myself and the world’.

Leave a Reply

