Day #807:”If you are afraid of failing you won’t get very far.” -Steve Jobs

 

Steve Jobs is an exceptional example of someone who lived his life according to his own code and left a permanent mark on the world in his wake.

I’ve read his biography, and I’ve watched many interviews with him, but today I came across what I believe to be a more rare glimpse into his mind. In this video which is a continuation of the interview excerpt featured in a recent PBS documentary on Jobs in yesterdays’s post.

Steve shares his thought on asking, taking action and how to deal with the fear of failure.

“I’ve never found anyone who said no or hung up the phone when I called. I just asked. And when people ask me I try to be as responsive to pay that debt of gratitude back. Most people never pick up the phone and call, most people never ask – and that’s what separates, sometimes, the people that do things from the people that just dream about them. You’ve gotta act. And you gotta to be willing to fail. You’ve gotta be willing to crash and burn, you know with people on the phone, with starting a company, with whatever. You know, if you’re afraid of failing, you won’t get very far.”

 

Leave a Reply

