Day #811:Are You Listening Or Talking To Yourself?

Martyn Lloyd-Jones once said,

“Have you realised that most of your unhappiness in life is due to the fact that you are listening to yourself instead of talking to yourself?”

Dr. James Gills accomplished the remarkable feat of completing two triathlons back to back. Most of the world, including me, couldn’t complete one triathlon, never mind two. Yet, Dr. James Gills, a man in his fifties, was able to complete a double triathlon six times.

When asked how he did it, he gave the best advice I’ve ever heard.

He said, “I’ve learned to talk to myself instead of listen to myself.”

He continued, “If I listen to myself I hear all the reasons why I should give up. I hear that I’m too tired-too old-too weak to make it. But if I talk to myself I can give myself the encouragement and words I need to hear to keep running and finish the race.”

What an extraordinary insight.

It’s easy to fall prey to the voices in our head.

The voices that tell us that we’re not good enough.

The voices that continually remind us of our failures.

The voices that fill us with fear and anxiety about our present and future predicaments.

The voices that try to drown out all sense of reason and perspective.

Stop listening to yourself and start talking to yourself instead.

Tell yourself that you are OK.

Tell yourself that you are not your past.

Tell yourself until you can’t hear the voices any more.

Leave a Reply

